TPSF Ngalula picked to steer wheels of bloc’s business body

She becomes the first Tanzanian female to assume the august post

WEDNESDAY June 22, 2022

MS Angelina Ngalula, the Chairperson of the Tanzania Private Sector Foundation, addresses the 22nd Annual General Meeting of the East African Business Council shortly after she was elected Chair of the regional business council in Kigali Rwanda, on Monday. PHOTOS COURTESY

By Adam Ihucha

Tranquility News Correspondent, Tanzania

In a historic move, the Tanzania Private Sector Foundation (TPSF) boss, Ms Angelina Ngalula, has been unanimously elected Chairperson of a prestigious regional organisation, raising the country’s profile high.

Ms Ngalula was picked on Monday new Chairperson of the East African Business Council (EABC), becoming the first female from Tanzania to assume the august post.

She was elected during the 22nd EABC Annual General Meeting held in Kigali, Rwanda, to serve for 2022-2024 tenure, taking over from a Kenyan business mogul, Mr Nicholas Nesbitt, who served from 2018-2022.

“I’m extremely humbled, but deeply grateful and overwhelmed by the position of such an August body. I owe the EABC executive committee appreciation for electing me out of dozens of qualified business leaders. I will serve the institution with the highest level of competence and dedication,” Ms Ngalula commented after the election.

She vowed to collaborate with the EABC Board and the East African Community (EAC) Secretariat in spearheading the mission of making the EAC a free trade bloc for the citizens to enjoy the much-awaited seamless flow of business as part of the wider EAC integration benefits.

The outgoing East African Business Council Chairperson, Mr Nicholas Nesbitt, congratulates the incoming Chairperson of the council, Ms Angelina Ngalula, after her election in Kigali, Rwanda, on Monday.

Endorsed at the helm of the council as vice chairpersons, also were four elected EABC Board members, namely Mr Muzaneza Antoine from Burundi Traders Association and Mr Simon Kaheru from Unganda Manufacturers Association. Others were Mr Dennis Karera from Kigali Heights and Mr Jas Bedi from Kenya Private Sector Alliance.

The EABC also picked Tanzania’s agri-business specialist Jacqueline Mkindi to serve the prestigious regional organisation as its board member, flying the country’s flag high yet again.

Dr Mkindi, the TAHA Fresh Handling Ltd Chairperson and champion of Tanzania’s multi-million-dollar horticultural industry, is credited for the powerful private sector’s voice in Tanzania.

Dr Mkindi, who doubles as the Chair of the dynamic Agriculture Council of Tanzania (ACT), is a business manager by profession with immense practical competencies in business management, entrepreneurship, policy analysis, and business negotiations.

Other EABC board members from Tanzania include Mr Paul Makanza from Tanzania Cigarette Public Limited Company and Mr Ali Suleiman Amour from Zanzibar National Chamber of Commerce, Industry and Agriculture (ZNCCIA).

The newly elected East African Business Council Chairperson, Ms Angelina Ngalula (Right), poses for a souvenir photo with one of her Board members in Kigali, Rwanda on Monday.

Besides Mr Muzaneza, the EABC elected Board members from Burundi were Mr Juvénal Sakubu from EIS-EKA Group, Mr Delphin Kaze from KAGE, and Ms Amelie Ninganza from KHS Company Ltd.

EABC board members from Kenya in addition to Mr Bedi were Ms Emily Waita from Coca-Cola Central, East and West Africa Ltd, Mr Muhoho Kenyatta from Brookside Dairy Ltd, and Mr Mucai Kinyiha from Kenya Association of Manufacturers.

Apart from Mr Karera, elected the EABC Board members from the Rwanda were Mr John Bosco Rusagara from Intraspeed Ltd, Mr Emmanuel Nkusi from Bank of Kigali and Ms Linda Kalimba from Trinity Lawyers.

Also elected EABC Board members from Uganda besides Mr Kaheru were Mr Stuart Mwesigwa from Roofings Group, Mr Businge Wilson Rwabwogo from Mukwano Industries (U) Ltd, and Ms Pheona Nabaasa Wall from Uganda Law Society.

The 22nd AGM feted Mr Nesbitt by conferring him OBS, OGW — an Outstanding Achievement Award in recognition of his excellent guidance, exceptional leadership and commitment to the EABC vision of a Borderless East Africa for Business and Investment during his term.

The East African Business Council Board members pose for a souvenir photo along with their outgoing Chair, Mr Nicholas Nesbitt (Seated Third Left), and the incoming Chair, Ms Angelina Ngalula (Seated Third Right), shortly after election of the regional business leaders in Kigali, Rwanda, on Monday.

The EABC is the regional apex body of private sector associations and Corporates from the six East African partner states, namely Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

The newly admitted member of the bloc, Democratic Republic of the Congo, is expected to join the council, pending the integration roadmap currently being implemented by the EAC Secretariat.

The business council dates back to 1997 when it was established to foster interests of the private sector in the integration process of the community. The primary mission of the council is to promote sustainable private sector-driven growth in the EACΩ


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker